How To File A Personal Injury Claim in New Mexico

How To File A New Mexico Personal Injury Claim

New Mexico personal injury cases are handled in the district courts. District courts have jurisdiction over all civil matters, including claims for personal injuries. Anthony Paglia has taken his love for law and helping people one step further by passing the New Mexican Bar Exam. He believes that the more he can do to help people, the better. This blog will walk you through how to file a New Mexico personal injury claim.

File Documents For Your Case

The first step in filing a New Mexico personal injury claim is to notify the other party of your intent to file a lawsuit. This is done by filing a notice of claim with the party that you believe caused your injury. Once you have filed your notice of claim with the appropriate party, that party has 90 days to respond by either paying you what they think they owe you or denying liability for your injuries. If they respond within that time frame and pay you, then your case will be closed, and no further action will be taken against them. If they do not respond within 90 days, then you can file a suit against them in district court.

The majority of the time, parties will not respond because they feel that the person is asking too much. This is why you file your documents, so it’s a legal issue and not a “he said, she said” problem. Everything needs to have a paper trail.

Contact Your Attorney

If you believe that your injuries are severe enough to warrant legal action, an important step is to contact a personal injury attorney such as Anthony Paglia. These professionals have experience dealing with personal injury cases and can advise you on whether or not your claim has merit. They can also help you navigate the entire process from start to finish.

Share Any Evidence You Have

If you want to file a New Mexico personal injury claim, you will need to gather evidence for your claim. Evidence can include photos, medical bills, police reports, and eyewitness accounts.

If you have suffered a serious injury in an accident caused by another party’s negligence or premises liability, it is vital that you gather as much evidence as possible. This will help your case greatly.

The best thing that you can do is keep everything in chronological order so that the court can easily follow the story of what happened leading up to and after the incident. If there are witnesses to the event, make sure they are willing to speak on your behalf and provide any information needed by the court or insurance adjuster.

Gather Eye Witnesses

If possible, get at least two eye witnesses who can confirm exactly what happened. They may be able to help with any extra compensation or criminal charges that come up later on. Make sure they know how important it is for them to tell their story as accurately as possible.

Make sure to get your eye witnesses contact information so your attorney can contact them if it is necessary to do so.

Keep All Documents

It’s to your advantage to keep all the documents of your case and give copies to your personal injury lawyer at the time of their hire. These documents include your medical records and bills, police reports, witness statements, and any other relevant evidence that supports your case. You should also keep receipts for all expenses related to your injuries, including medical bills and lost wages from work. It is important that you keep these documents organized so that they are easy to find when needed during the legal process.